Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.
Options

Merge and Split discussions - possible?

edited May 2011 in Vanilla 2.0 - 2.8
I am helping someone with their Vanilla board (completely new to it) and we cannot seem to find an option in Vanilla to split or merge a discussion - is it not implemented? Is there a plugin for it? Or maybe its possible to write on (I am a PHP dev so if theres nothing out there I'll just write something but it's the hard way)

Comments

• Options
    Can you write a plugin that splits and merges threads?
    There's no possibility to split and merge threads at the moment.

There was an error rendering this rich post.

• Options
    I am currently working on a plugin, but as I am completely new to Vanilla, it can take a long time before I figure out how to use the framework. So far I managed to inject split/merge buttons using a plugin and DiscussionController_CommentOptions_Handler method. Now Im trying to figure out how to plug any actual logic under these buttons
  • Options
    At this point working on merge stuff in my plugin this is what I have:

1. a link next to the first post linking to eg. /discussion/merge/32273
    2. a method in plugin DiscussionController_merge_Create

And I am stuck not knowing how to invoke a view, where I could try rendering a form
  • Options
    $Sender->View = 'merge';
    $Sender->Render();

OK that was pretty obvious. I think I am on a good path
  • Options
    lucluc ✭✭
    Can you write a plugin that splits and merges threads?
    There's no possibility to split and merge threads at the moment.
    http://vanillaforums.org/discussion/15420/merge-discussion-threads-in-vanilla-2#Item_3

Not sure about split.