Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

inconsistent permission behavior on new forum migrated from smf2

Im using latest vanilla

After the migrations, users had no groups and were not verified :anguished: .
So i ran this code on sql:
insert ignore GDN_UserRole(UserID, RoleID)
select UserID, RoleID
from GDN_User
where Admin = 0

With roledid being the proper value of course. It added everyone to the members role.
Under the members role ppl cant announce anything, yet, in my forum ppl can...
currently when i visit any profile what i see is:
Roles: Not Verified, , Member

I'm worried that the , , part is giving users unintended permissions, what should i do? I'm new to vanilla, I actually have a lot of questions, that's the first one.

Thanks for any response!

Tagged:

Comments

• I think i found the problem, it seems to want to set the new member to role 8, except "member" is not role 8 on my system due to the import from smf... so it fails and creates bogus structures that i have to clean later on.

• Also, its shameful vanilla doesnt have a way to send a newsletter or similar to users form the dashboard.

• RiverRiver MVP
    edited August 2016

@Kiori said:
    I think i found the problem, it seems to want to set the new member to role 8, except "member" is not role 8 on my system due to the import from smf... so it fails and creates bogus structures that i have to clean later on.

Yep - imports can be troublesome with respect to roles and roleid's use the standard roles and roleids - things will be smoother sailing.

@Kiori said:
    Also, its shameful vanilla doesnt have a way to send a newsletter or similar to users form the dashboard.